In Case of Emergency Dial 9-1-1

Check your smoke detectors and have an emergency escape plan!

About the fire district

Jackson Fire District 3 is a combination fire department that employs 12 firefighters and has about 50 volunteer firefighters.  The paid firefighters work a rotating three platoon system from Monday to Friday, 6am to 6pm, and are supervised by a captain and lieutenants.  Daily assignments of the firefighters include fire suppression, rescue & first responder EMS, fire inspections & prevention, maintenance of equipment, and other duties.

Fire Engines 5501 and 5521.

The Board of Fire Commissioners also contracts with Jackson Township Volunteer Fire Co. No. 1 – Station 55 located at 113 North New Prospect Road for fire suppression coverage around the clock.  Volunteer members of the department are on call 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  

Fire District 3 Bureau of Fire Safety is the Local Enforcement Agency (LEA) that enforces the NJ State Uniform Fire Code.  The Fire Bureau office is located at 200 Kierych Memorial Drive (Johnson Park Fire Station) and staffs a full time fire official and company fire inspectors.  The fire official supervises and administers day to day operations of the fire bureau.  Some of the duties include enforcement of local, state and federal laws to prevent fire and educate the community in fire safety. 

Fire District 3 career firefighters are certified Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs) and are trained in CPR and Automatic External Defibrillator (AED) use.  They respond to first aid calls such as difficulty breathing, chest pain, severe bleeding and other medical emergencies.  Our firefighters have been cross trained as first responders since the early 1990’s and continually train to maintain our EMT credentials.

Jackson Fire District No. 3 is one of three fire districts within the Township of Jackson, NJ, and covers the most densely populated area in the northeast section of the township.   In 2010 the population was estimated to be 54,856 people by the US Census Bureau.  A five member Board of Fire Commissioners are elected to govern the district by securing funding through fire taxes, financial oversight and setting policy.

Regular business hours for the fire bureau and district clerk are Monday to Friday 8:00am to 4:00 pm.


Map of Jackson Fire District 3
Map of Jackson Fire District 3

Downloadable Fire District Map